Walter J. Allen & Shaun B. Keister Scholarship

The Walter J. Allen and Shaun B. Keister Scholarship is open to undergraduate (sophomores, juniors, and seniors) and graduate students who have demonstrated leadership and involvement in the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, asexual, etc. (LGBTQIA+) community at Iowa State University. The scholarship amount varies pending the number of awardees, typically $1,000.

Scholarship Amount

The scholarship amount varies, typically $1,000.00.

Applicants must meet all of the following qualifications:

  • Recipients will be undergraduate sophomores, juniors, or seniors or graduate students
  • Recipients will demonstrate leadership and involvement in LGBTQIA+ student activities, events, or initiatives
  • Recipients will demonstrate experience in promoting LGBTQIA+ visibility, community, engagement, and action on campus
  • Recipients will demonstrate a commitment to academic achievement by achiving a grade point average of 2.25 or higher for undergraduate students and 3.25 or higher for graduate students on a 4.0 scale


Click to Submit an Application

Past Recipients

2018 - Tommy Wren
2017 - Roslyn Gray
2016 - Savanna Falter